David Ross Education Trust joins Government and Education experts backing young musicians

Friday, January 11, 2019

Trust working with Department for Education to develop new school music curriculum

11th January 2019: The David Ross Education Trust is delighted to be part of an expert group helping develop a new music curriculum for schools, as announced today by School Standards Minister Nick Gibb MP.   The new model music curriculum will provide a framework for schools to base their own programmes of study on, backed by some of the most influential and expert figures in music education.

Simon Toyne, Executive Director of Music at the David Ross Education Trust, is one of the panel’s experts chosen to help shape the new curriculum, which will be published in summer 2019.  Simon leads the Trust’s award-winning music programme across its 34 primary, secondary and special schools, where music is an integral part of its vision to transform young people’s lives.

Simon Toyne said: “Music is vital to the experience of every child in every school as part of a broad and balanced curriculum. In our experience, a rich and purposeful music curriculum – in which children and teachers act as musicians, with a high level of engagement, discipline, curiosity and aspiration – has the power to transform the lives of every participant and of the school community at large.

I look forward to playing an active role in shaping a model music curriculum that delivers meaningful music lessons of the highest quality, so that all young people experience the very best music education throughout their school lives.”

The panel overseeing development of the model curriculum comprises:

  • Veronica Wadley (chair), Former Chairman of Arts Council, London, Council Member of the Royal College of music, Governor of the Yehudi Menuhin School and co- Founder of the London Music Fund
  • Carolyn Baxendale, Head of Bolton Music Service and lead for Greater Manchester Music Education Hub
  • Karen Brock, Head of the Tower Hamlets Arts and Music Education Service
  • Michael Elliott, Chief Executive, ABRSM (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music)
  • Peter Garden, Executive Director Performance & Learning, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
  • Naveed Idrees, Head Teacher, Feversham Primary Academy
  • Julian Lloyd Webber, Cellist, Conductor and Principal, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
  • Professor Linda Merrick, Principal, Royal Northern College of Music
  • Paul Roberts, National Council Member, Arts Council England
  • Ian Rowe, Principal, Bromley Youth Music Trust
  • James Thomas, Head of Hackney Music Service
  • Simon Toyne, Executive Director of Music, David Ross Education Trust, and President-Elect, MMA Music Teachers
  • Ed Watkins, Director of Music, West London Free School
  • Bridget Whyte, Chief Executive, UK Association for Music Education – Music Mark